AIADMK wants TN Chief Minister Jayalalitha as next Indian PM

The AIADMK General meeting has passed a resolution that a leader from Tamil Nadu should lead teh country this time.

The resolution does not name Tamil Nadu Chief Minister and AIADMK chief J Jayalalithaa explicitly for prime ministerial candidates, but its pretty obvious that the party is proposing none other than her name for the highest position in the country.

The party resolution says, “There have been PM candidates from Gujarat, Punjab etc; this is time for someone from Tamil Nadu to lead the country.

TN Chief Minister J Jayalalitha

TN Chief Minister J Jayalalitha

In response, Jaya said, said it was her party cadres’ wish and she was yet to decide whether to present herself as a prime ministerial candidate. The party’s key decision-making bodies, General Council and Executive, met under party presidium chairman E Madhusudhanan and adopted 16 resolutions in which it hailed Jayalalithaa for her “multi-faceted personality and skills”.

AIADMK described Jayalalithaa as an “unparalleled patriot,” while hailing her governance skills and said she was a leader who had gave equal respect to all languages and religions. “She is qualified to make India a superpower. So, we vow to create the situation for that,” the party said adding it will work to win all the 40 Lok Sabha seats. Tamil Nadu has 39 Lok Sabha seats and Puducherry one.

While the party has decided to go it alone in all 40 seats, as already announced by Jayalalithaa herself, it still authorised her to decide on alliance. It has asked its cadre to decimate the DMK by winning all Lok Sabha seats in the state in the coming Lok Sabha elections.

AIADMK criticised the Centre for the power cut scenario, referring to Jayalalithaa’s allegation that Tamil Nadu was facing 2500 mw shortage on account of lack of power generation from central units.

A total of 16 resolutions were adopted and the General Council and the Executive also praised Jayalalithaa’s efforts on Sri Lankan Tamils and Cauvery issues, among others.

The meeting also paid condolences to Nelson Mandela and late Yercaud MLA Perumal.

Sharanya Bharathwaj